CV

2011 to present

English Edit Sardegna is proofreading for the academic and business worlds.

It was started in Sardegna when I was living there (2008-13) and has dealt especially, but not exclusively, with material originally written in Italian. In the last few years clients have included people from India, China, Germany, France and Spain.

English Edit UK is a continuation from September 2013, for old European and new UK clients, from bases in London and Lancaster.

Academic & teaching background

• August 2007 – July 2011: Programme Leader, MSc Architecture, Advanced Environmental & Energy Studies by Distance Learning, a degree of the University of East London, at the Graduate School of the Environment, Centre for Alternative Technology: https://gse.cat.org.uk/gse-about-us   http://www.uel.ac.uk/postgraduate/programmes/environmentaldist.htm

• April 2003 – August 2007: Tutor, MSc Architecture, Advanced Environmental & Energy Studies at the GSE, CAT.

• 1998-2005: Aberystwyth University, part-time contracted teacher, Centre for Language and Learning (now renamed The International English Centre).  http://www.englishinwales.org.uk/schools/aberystwyth-university/ ).

• 1986-2006: Regional Tutor and Residential School Tutor, Open University, wales@open.ac.uk

• 1982-1995: Education Officer, Centre for Alternative Technology, Machynlleth SY20 9AZ UK www.cat.org.uk

• 1971-1982: School teacher in Ghana and then UK, latterly head of faculty, curriculum development.

Editing background

  • Proofreading: includes
    a) PhD theses topics ancient history and African anthropology
    b) scholarly papers in a vast range of topics, including: children’s language development, medical research, economics, statistics, psychology, African anthropology, history, geography.
  • MSc Distance Learning materials, approx. 2500 pp per year, managing editor, 2007-2011;
  • Founder and editor, ‘Green Teacher’ international quarterly periodical. 1986-97;
  • A number of books and other resources for UK school teachers and students

Qualifications

2012 March: CELTA: University of Cambridge ESOL: English Language Teaching.

1971 Postgraduate Certificate of Education, University of Keele

1970 Bachelor of Commerce, Liverpool University: Economics, Law.